Dear News Media, get your facts straight

 

Dear Friends and Strangers,

My name is Tom Comitta.  I am the person who appears in the large photo (see the above screenshot taken before the emails were sent) attached to this article on the police union hacking.  I have written the Associated Press and the editors and publishers of every periodical that published the article (every periodical I know of based on Google Alerts results–perhaps there are more…), asking them to remove this photo of me, as my contribution to Monday’s demonstration was not part of Anonymous’ protest.  Nor was it relevant to yesterday’s hacking.  I explained to each periodical my specific role during Monday’s protest.

One periodical, CBS MoneyWatch.com, returned my email and immediately removed the photo from the article.  Some removed the photo without saying a word.  To both, I am grateful.  As of now, one paper, The Bismarck Tribune, has yet to acknowledge or address my request.

Please see the two emails below for full details concerning this confusion.  And please see this blog post containing documentation of every guerrilla opera to date.

Yours,

Tom Comitta

 

[Here is my email to the periodicals that published the article:]

 

Dear Editors and Publishers of The Bismark Tribune, The San Diego Union Tribune, and CBS Money Watch,

My name is Tom Comitta.  I am the person who appears in the large photo attached to this article that each of your organizations published last night.  I have written to the Associated Press and the article’s author asking that they remove my picture from all publications of the article.  The email I sent them can be found below this message.  It shows that my role in Monday’s demonstration was separate from Anonymous’ (I was part of an entirely different group) and that using my photograph in conjunction with this idiotic hack is simply incorrect (this photo and my actions on Monday have nothing to do with the police union hack).

I ask that you please either remove my photo from the article or take the article down until the Associated Press has fixed the matter.  Thank you for your time and understanding.

All the best,

Tom Comitta

 

[Here is my email to AP:]

 

Dear Associated Press and reporter Paul Elias,

My name is Tom Comitta.  I am the person who appears in the large photo attached to thisthisthis, and this article.  I write to you today to ask if you would please remove this picture from all publications of this article.  If you read my statement here (written August 17), you will find that I did NOT take part in the Anonymous protest and am NOT associated with Anonymous or any hackers.  You will find that I run a guerrilla theater group called SF Guerrilla Opera and that our “demonstration” (my YouTube footage of the opera) was a creation of our own:  an opera concerned primarily with the BART cellphone blackout, an opera that coincided with the Anonymous protest.  For proof of the existence of my group, see this post published on poet Ron Silliman’s blog and this book published on March 19, 2011 after our first guerrilla opera.

I ask that you please immediately remove this picture of me from all publications of this article.  Connecting me to this idiotic hacking endangers me personally and is simply incorrect.  I do not support the police union hacking or the myBART.org hacking.  What SF Guerrilla Opera and I support, and will continue to support, are an open Internet and freedom of speech.  We would never support senseless hacking.

Thank you,

Tom Comitta


One Comment on “Dear News Media, get your facts straight”

  1. […] Dear News Media, get your facts straight […]


Leave a Reply

